the Canadian pharmacy examiners and will be privileged to learn the viewpoint of those who conduct pharmacy licensure under somewhat different conditions from those obtaining in the States.

Remember the dates and make your plans to be present. Aside from the interesting business transacted by the N. A. B. P. we have other attractions of various A. Ph. A. allied activities. Apart from the convention activities Canada offers exceptional vacation attractions. We confidently look forward to seeing you in Toronto.

Fraternally yours, A. L. I. WINNE, President.

OBITUARY.

H. LIONEL MEREDITH.

H. Lionel Meredith, president of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, 1924–1925, and one of its most loyal workers during the early days of the organization, died at his home in Fort Pierce, Fla., on Saturday, May 7, 1932, after an illness of several months. He was fifty-eight years of age.

He was graduated from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science in 1900, with highest honors, later attending the University of Pennsylvania, and was recalled by his *Alma Mater* in 1923 to receive the honorary degree of Master of Pharmacy.

He served as a member of the Maryland Board of Pharmacy from 1903 to 1925, when he resigned to take up his residence in Florida. In 1903, he served as president of the Maryland Pharmaceutical Association.

The N. A. B. P. proceedings reveal the record of his achievements in the field of reciprocity. He was an earnest fighter for what he believed to be right. His presidential address in 1925 is an outline of the ideals for which he stood, many of which he succeeded in writing into the code of the Association. Truly, few men have done as much as he has. The N. A. B. P. grieves his passing. He leaves a niche that cannot be filled.

STATE BOARD NEWS.

Connecticut.—Chairman H. M. Lerou, of the N. A. B. P. Executive Committee, recently retired from the Connecticut Board of Pharmacy after completing fifteen years as a member of the Board and fourteen years as its secretary. His associates presented him with a beautiful desk-set as a token of their esteem. The Connecticut College of Pharmacy, of which he is a trustee, honored him with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree.

Hugh P. Beirne was elected Secretary of the Board. The other officers for the ensuing year are as follows: President, Louis Montanaro; Vice-President, George F. Blackall. Mr. Blackall succeeds Mr. Lerou.

Secretary Beirne has just retired as president of the Connecticut Pharmaceutical Association, having presided at the meeting held in June of this year.

New Jersey.—The recent reversal of the District Court verdict of "Not Guilty" on the Hutchins case by the Supreme Court reëstablishes the fact that Sweet Spirit of Nitre and Essence of Peppermint are medicines and must be sold in New Jersey only under the supervision of a registered pharmacist. This new decision should prove very helpful in combating the so-called patent medicine stores. The question in this case was whether these two products were classified as medicines or not. The lower court held that they were not medicines and therefore their sale

should not be restricted. The higher court reversed this decision scoring an important victory for pharmacy.

The New Jersey Board of Pharmacy recently elected the following officers for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 1932: *President*, C. Graham McCloskey; *Vice-President*, James J. A. Bauman; *Treasurer*, Albert J. Smith; *Secretary* and *Chief Chemist*, Dr. Robert P. Fischelis.

The next meeting of the Board for the consideration of applications for registration by reciprocity will be held in the State House, Trenton, on July 21st.

In accordance with the custom established a short time ago, ceremonies incident to the award of certificates were held on June 28th at Trenton. Seventy-eight certificates were awarded to those who passed recent examinations.

West Virginia.—Owing to the recent death of Alfred W. Walker, for many years secretary of the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy, Roy B. Cook of Charleston, W. Va., is serving as secretary. All inquiries should be addressed to him at Box 710. The July examination was held at Woodburn Hall, University of West Virginia, Morgantown, on the 11th and 12th.

PROGRAM OF TWENTY-NINTH ANNUAL CONVENTION.

Officers: President, A. L. I. Winne, Richmond, Va.; Secretary, H. C. Christensen, Chicago, Ill.; Treasurer, J. W. Gayle, Frankfurt, Ky.

PROGRAM.

MONDAY, AUGUST 22ND, 9:30 A.M.—First Session.

- 1. Call to Order, President Winne.
- 2. Roll Call.
- 3. Appointment of Committee on Credentials, President Winne.
- 4. Welcome and Recognition of Canadian Guests, President Winne.
- 5. President's Address, A. L. I. Winne.
- 6. Appointment of Committee on President's Address, Acting Vice-President.
- 7. Report of Executive Committee, H. M. Lerou, Chairman.
- 8. Report of Secretary, H. C. Christensen.
- 9. Report of Treasurer, J. W. Gayle.
- 10. Report of Committee on Constitution and By-Laws, F. H. King, Chairman.

MONDAY, AUGUST 22ND, 2:30 P.M.—Second Session.

- 1. Report of Department of Education, R. L. Swain, Director.
- 2. Report of Legislative Committee, R. L. Swain, Chairman.
- 3. Report of Committee on Credentials.
- 4. Appointment of Nominating Committee, President Winne.
- 5. Report of Advisory Examination Committee, H. C. Christensen, Chairman.
- 6. Report of Syllabus Committee, R. L. Swain.
- 7. Report of Committee on National Legislation, J. W. Wise, Chairman.
- 8. Report of Committee on Pharmacy Ownership Law, George W. Mather, Chairman.
- 9. Verbal Reports of Vice-Presidents:

District No. 1—C. Thurston Gilbert
District No. 2—Robert P. Fischelis
District No. 3—Clare F. Allen
District No. 4—J. W. Slocum
District No. 5—W. L. Lyle

District No. 6—Booker T. Latimer
District No. 7—John K. Clemmer
District No. 8—Joseph P. Murray
District No. 9—Arthur Lee Phelps

- 10. Report of Committee on Banquet Arrangements, W. M. Hankins, Chairman.
- N. A. B. Banquet, Monday, August 22nd, at 6:00 P.M.

TUESDAY, AUGUST 23RD AT 9:00 A.M.

Joint Session with American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, Special Program with Canadian Educators and Examiners Participating—to be announced later.